Founders & Scientific Advisory Board


Prof Rimona Margalit, PhD: Founder and inventor. Rimona Margalit is an emeritus Prof. of Biochemistry in Tel Aviv University and a veteran leader in the field of nanomedicine and drug delivery. She was the first to develop the application of hyaluronan as a targeting agent for particulate carriers.  Prof. Margalit has developed alone (and with Prof. Peer) three patented biomaterial-based particulate drug carrier technologies suitable for cargos of both small molecules and biological macromolecules, for applications in the fields of cancer, diabetes and inflammatory diseases applying systemic and local routes of administration. Prof Margalit holds numerous patents, has and is collaborating and consulting with several international and national pharmaceutical companies and is among the founding parents of the Israeli Chapter of the Controlled Release Society.

Prof Dan Peer, PhD: Founder and Inventor. Prof Peer is a principal investigator and Professor who leads an NIH-funded laboratory at Tel Aviv University, Israel.  Prof Peer completed his education in biochemistry and biophysics from Tel Aviv University, Israel (TAU). From 2005 to 2008, he worked at Harvard Medical School. He then joined the Department of Cell Research and Immunology, in the Faculty of life sciences at TAU to establish the laboratory of nanomedicine. Peer’s research was one of the first to demonstrate systemic delivery of RNAi using targeted nano-carriers to the immune system, and the first to utilize RNAi for in vivo validation of new drug targets within the immune system. Prof. Peer’s work was pioneering in the field of gut inflammation and he was involved in the development of antibodies that block lymphocytes homing into the gut during Inflammatory bowel disease. His work is published in premier scientific journals and he is the editor and author of several books in the field of nanomedicine. In addition, he is an associate editor of Journal of Controlled Release, and the editor (biology and medicine) in Nanotechnology. He is also a member of the editorial boards of numerous journals. Prof Peer has received more than 20 awards and honors, is a member of the Israel Young Academy of Science, and holds 45 pending and granted patents. He co-founded three companies based on his work aiming to bring the area of Nanomedicine into clinical practice.



Prof. Gordon J. Freeman: Gordon Freeman, PhD is a Professor of Medicine, Medical Oncology Harvard Medical School and member of the Cancer Immunology and Melanoma programs at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute. Member of the Cancer Immunology and Melanoma Programs. His laboratory studies the role of costimulatory signals in the development of an immune response. Gordon’s lab discovered PDL1,2 and demonstrated that inhibiting PDL1/PD1 signaling triggers an anti-tumor assault by the immune system. His lab also discovered the B7-1/B7-2 molecules and demonstrated that the B7-2/CD28 pathway is the major costimulatory pathway for T cell activation.

Prof. Dan Littman: Dan Littman is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Helen L. and Martin S. Kimmel Professor of Molecular Immunology, and Professor of Pathology and Microbiology, New York University School of Medicine, Skirball Institute of Molecular Medicine.  He has made seminal contributions to the fields of immunology and virology including the understanding of the molecular basis of immune recognition, T-cell differentiation, HIV pathogenesis and the role of the gut microbiota in immune system development and regulation.  Prof. Littman is a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

Prof. Antoni Ribas: Antoni Ribas, MD, PhD is a Professor of Medicine, Professor of Surgery, and Professor of Molecular and Medical Pharmacology at the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA). He conducts laboratory and clinical research on novel strategies for immunotherapy of cancer, focusing on malignant melanoma, and has served as Principal Investigator for clinical studies in drug development programs.  He is the Director of the Tumor Immunology Program at the Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center (JCCC), Vice-President of the Society for Melanoma Research (SMR) and the Chair of the Melanoma Committee at SWOG. He trained at the University of Barcelona, Spain, with postdoctoral research and clinical fellowship at UCLA.  Dr. Ribas is a permanent committee member of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) grant review panels and an elected member of the American Society of Clinical Investigation (ASCI).

Prof. Inder Verma: Prof. Verma is an American Cancer Society Professor of Molecular Biology at the Laboratory of Genetics and Irwin and Joan Jacobs Chair in Exemplary Life Science at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies and University California San Diego. He is recognized for seminal discoveries in the fields of cancer, immunology and gene therapy. For his many outstanding accomplishments, Dr. Verma has received numerous awards and honors including NIH Outstanding Investigator Award, 1988 and March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation Franklin D. Roosevelt Investigator, 1997. Dr. Verma is a distinguished Member of the Third World Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine and is the founder and scientific advisor to several pharmaceutical and biotech companies.